Skip to content

The Not so Mysterious Case of the Missing Dress

May 18, 2013

I know moving is never easy but it is even harder when you are not prepared and completely disorganized.  That was pretty much the situation with the kind of move I went through in the relocation from Florida to Maryland.  Oh those rueful thoughts of “if only I could go back I would do that differently” and “I should have done that” and “where did I put such and such”, the list could go on and on.  When you take all of the hindsight and couple it with the fact that you are still unable to unpack months and months later you have a really sad situation.

My move was insane, I was more unprepared than I had imagined once it came time for the movers to arrive.  I believe I traveled to hell and back that night before and after the movers came.  I believe I am still traumatized and may even have gaps in my memory due to the fact that my brain is trying to protect me, yes, it was that bad.  The move that was so bad that I have announced that I plan on NEVER moving again…ever!  I know, “never say never”, but for certain I am never moving so much myself again.  Oh the humanity!

All these memories came flooding back a few weeks ago as I was unable to find a few items that I had seen the previous week when opening a few boxes at my house.  I was going through boxes just to remember what I had and to look for a few things.  I came across several old and new friends that I can’t wait to find a place for once my house is ready.  I made a mental note to take a dress that still had the tags the following week when I returned to peruse some more boxes.

When I returned to revisit the boxes I had opened I couldn’t find the dress anywhere-I was in a panic.  I looked through all the opened clothes boxes three times.   I decided to leave and return another day to look again.  When I left my house I remembered three other distinct pieces of clothing that I didn’t remember seeing during the re-visitation.

My sister joked that someone had gotten in and taken the box.  I knew no one would come to take a box of my used clothes…but I didn’t rule out the possibility of a mischievous ghost.  Yes, I was that panic stricken and desperate.  My sister and mom had asked if I could have seen the clothes I was missing in any other box.  I haughtily informed them that I only put clothes in the boxes marked “clothes”.  So I was left wondering and fretting as to where that box could have gone to.

This picture was running through my mind.

This picture was running through my mind.

We returned to the house and again, I looked through the boxes and still found nothing.  My sister even went to the attic to make sure no playful spook had decided to play a trick and put the box up there.  I finally decided to look in one of my big miscellaneous boxes, I removed the two throw pillows that were the first items, and then saw the mysterious disappearing clothes deeper in the box.  I had to confess to my mother and sister that I had indeed found them in a box marked “miscellaneous” and admitted I hadn’t been as meticulous as I had thought regarding the packing of all my clothes apparently.  Serves me right for being so smug about the way I marked my boxes.

So, when I finally do get to unpack who knows what I will find in each box, how many things I will ask myself “why oh why, did I bring this?”  I am sure I will be asking that question more often than I will care to admit.  I am glad I did find the items for my own piece of mind and glad that we didn’t have an unseen trickster but I do not confess the same gladness at realizing the one thing I thought I was organized about in the move I wasn’t.  Unpacking should be quite an adventure when the time comes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2013 1:57 pm

    It was like a prison break of a move. We tunneled out with sporks with mad Russians chased us to the bitter end as out suitcases opened and spilled out pretties.

    • May 18, 2013 2:02 pm

      A very accurate description! We lived to tell the tale! We are fierce!!!!!

      • May 18, 2013 2:05 pm

        I meant mad Russians chasing us but we tamed them with pizza and soda. So much so they never wanted to leave. Fierce. . well I think cuckoo birds is more like it!

      • May 18, 2013 2:06 pm

        Yes pizza soothes the savage movers-even if they never got my name right. 😛 Okay…fierce cuckoo birds! 😀

Leave a Reply

