Skip to content

The Temporary Desolation of Relocation

March 12, 2013

I have found with complete certainty that undertaking a long distance move is not for sissies!  I am also finding that I may, indeed, be a sissy.  The relocation took months to complete and that is just taking into account getting our belongings and persons into the new state.  Am I close to being settled?  No, and it will take several months from what I surmise at this time.  I am not a patient person, so perhaps that is what the sum of this experience will give me-that very virtue I woefully lack.

What I have learned without a doubt is that getting lost in Washington DC is very easy; you might also say I became somewhat of an expert on the subject-having driven through it several times on three straight drives from Miami, FL to Maryland.  I assure you this is an area where I did not hope for such expertise.   I will say that on the positive side, my panic, terror and anxiety has lessened with each experience of misdirection but it has also made me lose my faith in all things Mapquest and Google Maps.  Once the directions hit DC they get incredibly muddled, but each site did at least get me to the threshold of the nation’s capital.

My car covered in the first, and pretty much only, real snow of my first Maryland winter

My car covered in the first, and pretty much only, real snow of my first Maryland winter

The differences between Florida and Maryland are extremely vast, and I think it will take much getting used to.  One of the things I don’t miss about Florida, and will never miss about Florida, is the heat.  Ugh!  What a horrible thing the heat was, especially when your air conditioning dies a horrible death and you cannot replace its carcass.  I did enjoy my first winter in Maryland although it was on the mild side, I think it is much preferable to either extreme in the cities I have lived before-Milwaukee and Miami.

I have to admit that living in Miami for more than three quarters of my life what I miss most is the familiarity.  I think knowing where you are and knowing your way around are highly underrated-getting around in Maryland is really not as easy, getting lost however is.  Miami and the south Florida area also had many more built up areas so you could always find a place that had something you were looking for and many things were open 24 hours.  I got very spoiled with that way of life and accessibility.  Moving to a smaller city and state has been quite an adjustment to say the least.

Our eventual cozy and comfy home

Our eventual cozy and comfy home

I really hope that in time I do learn to love my new surroundings and my new state.  I pray that one day my not knowing how to get places will be a dim memory and that I won’t groan and grow anxious when getting to another part of Maryland necessitates me weaving through DC.  I pray for this but I know it will be a long time coming yet.

I have never seen a toilet paper holder/radio/telephone before

A toilet paper holder/radio/telephone left in our new home-it will not be staying nor will the pink paint

The thing I am having the hardest time with is being positive and hopeful.  I know I need to pull myself up by the bootstraps and start heading for the light at the end of the tunnel, but I haven’t been able to do that yet.  I don’t feel settled and I don’t feel like I am truly living.  I need to find a way to snap out of it and I hope that time will come soon.

The attic ceiling-I can't explain it, but it will be repainted eventually

The attic ceiling-I can’t explain it, but it will be repainted eventually

Our house, for my mother and I, needs a lot of work, more than we had anticipated.  We have started getting things done, and doing what we can ourselves with the help of our family.  We have to get more money together to continue the renovations and hopefully that will come soon…until then we are in a sort of limbo as we cannot fully settle into the house because we cannot live in it.  I know I have neglected the project since before the holidays and I have to get back into it.  Thankfully we have extremely loving and patient relatives to stay with in the meantime.  The house project is an intimidating one.  I hope that things will come together sooner rather than later and before we know it my mom and I will have a charming and welcoming home and I will find a job that I will do well and enjoy doing.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat Padua permalink
    March 12, 2013 3:15 pm

    Hang in there Elvie!

  2. March 12, 2013 4:05 pm

    Let’s go over and clean all the ickies!!!

  3. March 12, 2013 4:18 pm

    elvie. it will get better. promise.

    i moved, tearfully, to los angeles 20 + years ago, for my then-husband to attend grad school. i protested every step of the way.

    i spent the first 5 years in despair in a shit apartment not knowing what i wanted to do with my life, or “BE.” and i truly let that anger and frustration ruin my marriage…

    and you have to know that once i got divorced, ALL i wanted to do was leave.

    but i met david and slowly began to build (and continue to build) my life.
    i had some time and space to create it MY way. and i am still not a great “fit” in this auto-driven skinny sunshine place. but it is a diverse place that has allowed me freedoms and vitality that i never would have found in the confines of my hometown.

    today and forever, now i think: l.a. is HOME. truly.
    it’s not perfect–but i love it.

    i’m not perfect and am always feeling a constant sense of still not being SETTLED or “done.” but i guess that is life and its journey. and that is a good thing.

    hoping that you will find a similar sense of peace once you begin to acclimate.
    that it’s up to you to find what you like about where you life–that is what i have learned.

    once i realized that and stopped trying to compare l.a. with anywhere else i’ve ever been, it began to get better.

    keep me posted, girl.
    and, as my dad always says, “keep on truckin'”

    xxx
    leslie 🙂

    • March 12, 2013 4:43 pm

      You sure went through trial by fire. That does give me hope! I know it will get better, I just need to try and get settled to some degree but it hasn’t been easy! I will be sure to keep you up to date, my sweet! 🙂

  4. March 12, 2013 5:32 pm

    Senorita Whiskers: Keep your eyes on the prize! Hope this time in purgatory will pass quickly. You will indeed have a wonderful and cozy home someday and this area will someday be familiar as the back of your hand. We often have HR/Acctn/Admin positions open at JSI. It is a wonderful company: http://www.jsi.com/JSIInternet/Work/jobpostings.cfm
    Check it out. The paint colors in your new house are amazing. I have to say I never ever want to move again unless we can afford a house at the beach. : – )

    • March 12, 2013 5:49 pm

      Thank you, I hope it won’t be too much longer until things fall into place and things are better. It is hard being in the inbetween state. I know what you mean, I don’t want to move again if I can help it and definitely not such a drastic move so I better learn to love it here. 😉

  5. March 12, 2013 8:04 pm

    “Home is a name, a word, it is a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit ever answered to, in the strongest conjuration.” Charles Dickens

    We’ll be there soon!

Leave a Reply

