Skip to content

Happy Birthday to My True Blue Moo

April 22, 2012

What is the measure of a happy life?   Some people would say being rich so you wouldn’t have to worry about money, some would say good health, so you wouldn’t worry about being sick and so on and so on.  I say having troubles and struggling can be a blessing, it is in times like those that you really find out who you are and your capacity to be brave and to love.  Who is the main person who taught me this, well it happens to be my mom, lovingly called Moo, who celebrates 63 years of awesomeness today, April 22nd.

Moo and me

My mom’s life has been filled with struggles…when she was 12 she had to leave her country, Cuba, with just her siblings her parents had to stay behind.  She was sent to a camp in Florida with her sister and her brothers sent elsewhere.  Not long after she arrived in the United States she received word that her father died and the family would never be whole again.  It was a while yet before her mother, my grandmother, could join her children and the new life that waited for them.

My mom and her family ended up in Colgate, Wisconsin of all places, and eventually they relocated to Milwaukee.  My mom had a lot of responsibility as a young teenager; she cooked for the family, and shared cleaning, laundry and shopping duties with her older sister.  She went from keeping house for her mother to getting married in December 1970, and becoming a mother in December 1971, with one more little one to follow in June of 1973.

My mother never gave my sister and me chores to do; I think maybe she was trying to allow us just to be children, as her own opportunity had been short-lived.  We eventually moved to Miami and closer to her family, in time my parents divorced and my mom was left to provide for us on her own, she must have been scared and times were hard but we always had each other, and we still do.

Me and Moo in Disney World for her 60th Birthday-she even got a birthday pin with her name on it.

I am glad, in a way, to have had to struggle because by not having things come easily I have had the opportunity to become richer in many other ways, and the person I thank most of all for this is my mother, it’s because of her and the woman she is.  She has her ups and downs like everyone else but she is stronger than she knows and more accomplished and successful than she gives herself credit for.  Success should never be measured by how much you have; but by how much you love and are loved in return.  I know for sure she has two daughters who love her more than they can say in a blog post and who wouldn’t trade their Moo for any other anywhere.

So, Happy Birthday to the best Moo ever, and I pray for another 63 years.  Love you, Moo, always and forever and a million years besides.

The shadow of the three of us with our mouse ears on.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2012 4:00 am

    And more even besides and still and yay! Adversity is wonderful way to make amazing people. Hee! I love you Moo. I love you E! MWAH to you ont his happiest of days.

    • April 22, 2012 4:03 am

      You bet sister friend, today is the day we get to celebrate Moo, and there are no peeps I would wish to celebrate with more than Moo and you. 😉

  2. Fern permalink
    April 22, 2012 4:59 am

    I loved this post. Happy birthday to an amazing woman!

  3. Wednesday Woe permalink
    April 22, 2012 5:09 am

    Happy Birthday to your lovely Mama! The beauty of having our elders teach us of the secrets of a good life are worth more than all the diamonds of (blood drenched) Africa. Here’s hopes of many more!

Leave a Reply

