Skip to content

Bonny Blythe Glad Rags

April 19, 2012

Before I turned one year old, there was something that was clear, and something that would set a pattern for the rest of my life so far…I loved dolls.  Yes, I admit it I love dolls, always have and always will.  I am a certified and certifiable doll fiend first class.  Who was the little plastic darling that started it all?  A redheaded 1972 Blythe doll by Kenner-she made me flip my baby-sized lid and the rest is history.  I have mentioned Blythe before in previous posts, because I have loved her from the beginning…and almost from my beginning.  The Blythe doll has never lost her magic for me, I find her every bit as special today as I did all those years ago…the difference is that all those years ago I was one of the only ones and now I have lots of company.  Blythe is hugely popular all these years later, and those who loved her no longer are lonesome for company.

There are some amazing Blythe customizers there, and many custom dolls go for over $1,000.  I like to know I am not this crazy all by myself.  People buy custom accessories, wigs and such for their Blythe dolls, and of course there are clothes.  I am lucky enough to know someone who has finally come over to the Blythe side and who is a whiz with a needle and thread and ideas.  My friend Fern Lusk, known as Pepperoni Pizza on Etsy and in doll clothing commission circles, has been busy creating handmade Blythe couture.  I had urged her to give Blythe a chance over a year ago…she sweetly refused.  Fast forward to about a month or so ago, she gave the fabulous dolly a try and turns out she doesn’t find Blythe so bad after all.

As luck would have it, Fern is a natural at designing as sewing for Blythe, she has turned out gorgeous frocks in no time flat; but seeing is believing, so feast your eyes on these sweet creations available in her Etsy store:

Any Blythe doll would be happy to wear this adorable little floral party frock-so demure, so sweetly Blythe.

One look at Blythe in this darling pink and brown creation complete with bunny ears and plushy friend you will be heartily saying “Thank you Easter Bunny”…or rather “Thank you Pepperoni Pizza!”

Blythe is SO dramatic, so how about a gorgeous Melancholia gown-available in several colors.

What could be more natural than Blythe holding a teddy bear? Blythe holding a color coordinated teddy bear! What a marvelous idea and perfect combination!

She is simply a gothic darling in the darkly elegant veil and dramatic gown-it’s “ ‘til death do us part” whether she’s a bride or a widow.

You will find all of these wonderful creations and more in her Etsy store.  You can also contact Fern through her Etsy store and ask her to create something just for your doll, what are you waiting for?  Click Here!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 1:18 am

    I have decided that either Fern needs to make people clothes or I need to shrink down to Blythe size.

  2. Fern permalink
    April 19, 2012 2:02 am

    Gee, thank you both! I am so proud of my clothing, and this is the nicest advertisement ever! ❤

    • April 19, 2012 10:22 am

      That is so sweet of you, my pleasure. Your work is absolutely wonderful, and your Blythe creations are out of this world, honest. You know Veronica is not going to rest until you try making people sized clothes. 😉

  3. Wednesday Woe permalink
    April 20, 2012 3:23 am

    I find it very neat that you have had an actual LIFE LONG love affair with Blythe – how many people can say that! I know, that Fern! I would love to be so talented!

    • April 20, 2012 10:23 am

      Yes, Blythe and I go WAY back, and she is a doll that has never lost her shine for me, she has always been a favorite-even when noone knew what I was talking about. 😛

      Do not sell yourself short, I saw one of your LDD customs-and it was AWESOME!!!!

Leave a Reply

