Skip to content

Thank you Esmeralda, for everything

March 25, 2012

I wanted to write a little belated birthday post to our oldest kitty, Esmeralda; but sadly it will instead be a memorial.  Our sweet little girl turned 19 in February, the last of the litter.  She was with us almost half of my life, towards the end of her life she couldn’t see and she couldn’t hear; but boy could she eat.  She looked forward to her special food everyday and ate it with relish.  The younger kitties adored her, and gathered round her to snuggle her and when necessary to keep her warm.

The lovely and constant Esmeralda

The way Esmeralda and her siblings came to us was a fluke.  We lived in a townhouse and the main bathroom was on the second floor with a door leading outside to a staircase-yes, weird, I know.  One night I was cleaning the bathroom and I heard a little “meow” outside the bathroom door leading outside.  Now both because I am crazy and because I was curious, you have to remember it was probably around 1am…I opened the door.  Outside the door was a lovely fluffy black and white cat.

Forever Esmeralda

The little cat came inside the bathroom and just wanted to be petted and have some snuggles, so I obliged.  She and I spent a little time together and then she meowed to go back out.  This happened with some regularity over the next few weeks.  One night I noticed that she seemed to have bigger tummy, and she looked pregnant.  I didn’t like the thought of her being outside and having her kittens who knows where.  I told my mom and asked if we could bring her in until she had her babies, and then we could get her fixed and find homes for the kittens.  My mother reluctantly agreed and since we had other cats at the time so we were going to keep her separate.

Our sweet girl

Eventually the mother cat had five kittens.  We took the mother to get spayed and once she was healed she wanted to go outside, she didn’t get along with our other cats…a short time later a neighbor took her in.  We found a home for one of the kittens, yes only one.  We kept the other four, one of them our Esmeralda.  Her brother Wolfman, lovingly called Wolfer, left us a few years ago, and her sister Cow before that and the first to leave was her other sister St. George.  Esmeralda outlasted them all, in fact she was the oldest cat we have ever had, Ludwig is the second oldest, and she was only 16 when she passed away.

Esmeralda was a white and gray short-hair with lovely golden green eyes, and she was always neat and trim and even tempered, as my sister said she was always constant.  It is this very constancy that we will so very much miss, our dependable girl always there ever present and very much part of our home.  She wasn’t the brightest cat we have ever had but she was never a trouble maker and got along with everyone-human or beastie, always very much Esmeralda.

Ever constant

I woke up Saturday and my mom and sister were gathered around her and felt that she didn’t have long.  We gave her pets and comfort, my sister giving her water to keep her mouth moist and comfortable.  She responded to touch even when we thought she wasn’t conscious, she knew we were there, and she didn’t want to be alone.  Another of our cats who loved Esmeralda very much came to lay beside her and keep her warm as she had done the night before while letting Esmeralda rest her head on her.

My sister and I had to go out, and our mother stayed with her.  We received a call from our mother as we were making our way home.  Esmeralda had died; my mom said she spent the last half hour singing to Esmeralda and petting her.  Esmeralda’s passing was a peaceful one, which is such a blessing, and my mom told us she died purring.  And that was very much the way Esmeralda was, undemanding, unassuming, quite content just to love us and be loved.  We will miss our girl, to quote my sister she gave us “19 years of Esmeralda excellence”, we would be selfish to ask for more.

We miss you but are grateful for all the love you gave us

Less than two weeks ago we lost our youngest cat and now we have lost our oldest, I am sure they are together now as they were in life.  They aren’t lonely, they are happy and free from pain and worry and I know if I am very good, one day I will see them again.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 1:50 am

    I’m so sorry about this and everything. I can’t handle all of this loss very well. She was a wonderful little kitty.

    • March 25, 2012 1:53 am

      She was a sweetheart, and part of our lives for so long her loss is very hard to face. Her death is the end of an era in our lives, and it’s hard to say goodbye.

  2. Fern permalink
    March 25, 2012 2:13 am

    I am so sorry for your loss. I’m a bit teary eyed right now from reading this. She sounded like the very best cat one could ever ask for. She was beautiful too! Such a sweet and lovely face. I do know what it is like to lose a cat that has been around so long. Our oldest cat Muffin died about 3 years ago at 17. She did not die peacefully, and that still haunts me. I am glad for her peaceful and very filled passing. I know you will miss her very much. *hugs to you all!*

    • March 25, 2012 2:21 am

      Thank you, Fern. I know you understand, and I know how terrible it can be when the passing is difficult. I just feel truly thankful and blessed that she had a peaceful exit, and cat as wonderful and faithful as she was deserved a sweet ending.

  3. March 25, 2012 1:55 pm

    A beautiful tribute to a beautiful girl. My old girl was 18 when I had to let her go, and I know exactly how you feel.

    • March 25, 2012 3:47 pm

      Thank you so much, it is so wonderful when you find people who understand how you can love a pet and that they become part of the family and part of you. When you lose them it is a true grief that is experienced.

  4. March 27, 2012 12:31 pm

    I was very touched hearing all about your beautiful and late Esmeralda. She had a great 19 years and you will definitely be missing her brilliant green eyes and sweet nature.

    • March 27, 2012 4:14 pm

      Thank you, we do miss our girl. She was such a sweet and noble cat, even giving us the gift of letting us know she loved us and was happy right up until the very last.

Leave a Reply

