Skip to content

I Heart Twilight-It’s That Simple

January 7, 2012

I make no apologies, because I don’t think I need to, for loving Twilight and its sequels.  I read on an unrelated message board recently that older women who liked the series “most likely come from the soap opera fan crowd”-this offended me. I fit into the category of “older women” as I turned 40 this past December, but I am in no way a member of a soap opera fan crowd.  I think one of the amazingly wonderful things about the entire Twilight book series and movie franchise is that it brings people, men and women, boys and girls from all age groups and walks of life together for a story that is romantic and fun.

My mother enjoys the movies with me and she is in her 60’s and does not watch soap operas.  I know people who have nothing in common but loving the books and the story.  That is what is so wonderful-books bringing people together, making people forget their troubles and just enjoying something fantastic and out of the realm of possibility.

Another thing that bothers me is that people keep saying the books are poorly written etc.; I must have missed the memo where every work of fiction had to be another Pride and Prejudice or King Lear (both of which I like).  I will also say, that even if Stephenie Meyer’s series doesn’t qualify as literature, she writes a whole heck of a lot better than most people I know.  Take a moment sometime and you won’t even have to go further than a business letter or email to realize her writing isn’t too shabby.  The point is she created a cast of characters that engaged people and their imagination.

She took vampires and put her own twist on the legends of vampire which have varied since ancient times.  Vampires are folkloric and can be made into anything your imagination can think up as the one common characteristic in vampire legend is that they are blood drinkers.  The vampires in Twilight most certainly do live on blood, but it is their will as to the blood of whom or what they will subsist on.

I am all for the kinder and gentler vampire, and this is part of what appeals to me about the books along with the simple and straightforward love story of Edward and Bella.  I don’t know about you but I can’t think of many people who wouldn’t want someone who loves them and thinks they are the greatest thing since sliced bread.  The romance is a perfect struggle of loving someone and dying (and re-dying) to self and all our own needs and desires.  All I can say is this works for me.  It is fiction, and fiction has no rules, the rules are whatever the author makes them, it is within his or her creative license to do just that.

I enjoy the movies thoroughly; I say this without shame or embarrassment.  I have the DVDs, the soundtracks (which are outstanding), and the illustrated movie companions for each movie so far-great for behind the scene information which I love.  I am sure it will come as no surprise that I have Breaking Dawn Part 1 pre-ordered for delivery the day of release.  I will admit when I first saw the casting choices for the movies I was less than excited, with the exception of Kristen Stewart.  Then my friend, Lori, who introduced me to the books brought me around to the casting of the Cullens namely Edward.  I believe the movies have gotten progressively better with each installment.

I thought Twilight was cute and a very respectable attempt at filming a very difficult and involved story.  New Moon was even more polished, and the introduction to the Volturi was a highlight.  Eclipse was tight and moved the story along quite nicely and was in line with the books.  Breaking Dawn I always felt would be the most difficult book to put on film, and I think they did a really great job of it.  Breaking Dawn is one of my favorite books of the series and the one in which I think Stephenie Meyer pulled out all the stops and did exactly as she wanted-and I love it.  The wedding in the movie is beautiful and I think they manage to convey how devoted Edward and Bella are to one another and that even forever will not be long enough.  I think they could have made the honeymoon disastrous, but pulled it off with enough balance of comedy, anxiety and beauty.

The pregnancy and birth scenes were done extremely well, and really portray the situations as you imagine them to be in the book.  It was amazing to see the degeneration of Bella through her pregnancy and how she matured and found another love as great as or greater than that she had for Edward, for her baby.  I think Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart have really good chemistry that allows them to pull off the entire Edward and Bella dynamic, they are good together as the main characters should be.

Kristen Stewart has gotten criticism for her acting as Bella, in my opinion she plays Bella to perfection.  Bella is supposed to be inscrutable, if she wore her emotions plainly, why would Edward be so frustrated that he couldn’t read her mind or know what she was thinking if he could just see it in her face?  I don’t think they could have chosen a more perfect Bella, and Robert Pattinson as Edward fits because the two actors fit together so well, I couldn’t imagine another actor in his role either.  While I have never been a Jacob fan reading the books, Taylor Lautner does a fine job, and the three actors have a nice and easy chemistry together which make the movies work along with a fine supporting cast.

So I say thank you to Stephenie Meyer for the Twilight series that has given me hours of escape and enjoyment and a sweet and old fashioned romance to follow.  I thank Summit entertainment for caring about the fans of the books enough not to compromise the meat and potatoes of the stories and to really care about making the movies for the people who loved the books, and to the cast for caring enough to do their best and to also consider the readers who fell in love with the characters before the actors were given their roles.

There are books out there for everyone, and no book will ever be to everyone’s taste…if you don’t like vampires who sparkle, that is perfectly fine, but please don’t hate those of us who do.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Fern permalink
    January 7, 2012 4:58 pm

    While I am no fan of Twilight myself, I see no point in people being all up in arms over it. You should feel free to enjoy it to your hearts content, regardless of your age. Its really a stroke of luck they did such a fantastic job on the movies – too many times movie adaptations pretty much ruin the stories. (Take ‘The Count of Monte Cristo’ – one of my favorite books. The movie I saw of it was t-e-r-r-i-b-l-e.)

    • January 7, 2012 5:08 pm

      Exactly, I just don’t understand when people who don’t like something get mad at those who do-why does it matter? There are people who like lots of things I don’t and it certainly doesn’t bother me and i don’t say hateful things to them. Not everything needs to be analyzed, people have had different tastes since the beginning of time. 😛

  2. January 7, 2012 5:43 pm

    It’s all good fun Twilighter. And really people take vampires way too seriously! She created a whole new mythology and she’s a first time writer. Even if it’s imperfectly, she achieved a connection with countless people through artistic expression. That’s impressive.

    • January 7, 2012 5:52 pm

      Exactly! And this is just one more reason that I am the luckiest girl in the world to have you for a sister! 🙂

  3. Wednesday Woe permalink
    January 8, 2012 3:11 am

    I don’t see any need for your to feel ashamed of your love of Twilight. It seems that people are so entitled these days that if something isn’t up to their expectations or they don’t like it they will rage against the machine. I don’t care for 99% of what’s on TV, but I feel no interest in exerting any emotional energy over it. So be a proud Twilight fan and let the hatah’s hate. 😉

    • January 8, 2012 3:17 am

      Thank you, I am glad you understand where I am coming from…I don’t waste my time getting upset at people who like something I don’t-that is crazy. There have always been things that are popular that people like and I just don’t, I don’t start spitting nails about it though. 😛 And the hatah’s will hate fo’ sho’!

Leave a Reply

