Skip to content

They’re Real Cool Ghouls-It’s Monster High Time

July 28, 2011

I think by now I have established that I am a collector…especially of dolls and of the cute and spooky (see previous Living Dead Dolls post).  Another product line that fulfills my collector needs is the Monster High line by Mattel.  I love these dolls!  When I saw this collection it was as if someone belatedly made my childhood wishes come true.  I may be an adult but I hold fast to some parts of my childhood and dolls and toys are certainly included in those parts.  I just came upon them one day at Toys R’Us…and my jaw literally dropped to the floor.  I hurriedly called my sister and excitedly told her about the wondrous dolls before me.  The ones they had at the time were Draculaura, Frankie Stein, Clawdeen Wolf and the Deuce Gorgon and Cleo D. Nile double pack. 

Hauntingly awesome Spectra Vondergeist

While I was on the phone with my sister I was also calculating my bank balance and bills to see if I could squeeze one of those darlings in, because I obviously was there for something else.  I decided on the bootiful and lovely Frankie Stein and the spookilicious Draculaura for my first entries into Monster High-dom.  I eventually rounded it out with Lagoona and Clawdeen.  Then I found the Deuce and Cleo set on sale and bought it with my bewildered boyfriend by my side.  

I thought I was about done when I came across Holt Hyde and found out about Ghoulia Yelps.  Ghoulia, she was an obsession, I really needed that cute zombie in my cabinet.  I ended up getting her on ebay for $40, months later I could have gotten her at Target for $17.  That is the way the ball of collectibles sometimes bounces.  I eventually got Dawn of the Dance Frankie Stein I had almost gotten her months before but was trying to be “good”, DOD Clawdeen was a present-love her green hair and wolf ears.

Dead Tired cutie Ghoulia can't wait to munch on her "brain puffs"

Truly what is there not to love about these dolls?  They are cute, spooky and totally adorable.  I have heard people say that arms fall off etc.  I don’t play with them so I don’t have that problem.  I did take of Cleo’s forearm in order to hang her wristlet-but it snapped back in perfectly.  I really love the fact that they come with doll stands-good and practical doll stands-ones that actually work. 

Okay, I confess I have read the diaries they come with too.  They are written true to character and are such a clever idea.  I thoroughly enjoyed the contrasting viewpoints of the same situation in Deuce and Cleo’s respective diaries; it made for a fun read.  Whomever or whatever team designs this line obviously has a lot of fun with it and that fact definitely comes across.

Our forbidden love duo Clawd Wolf and Draculaura

These are fashionably hip monsters too.  The outfits are terrific, bright, fun and thought out.  The accessories are great and I love their pets.  Ghoulia’s pet owl, Sir Hoots-A-Lot, how awesome a name is that?  I think by now you are gathering that I like these dolls…I really like them.  Obviously they are not just for kids, I know a nice amount of other adults who collect them too.

Now there are new dolls coming out.  I will be honest I want them all, I have no idea where I will put them all but I want them all.  They are coming out with too many, how will I afford them all?  I have at least already made a dent in my wish list. *cough*  

Close up of Spectra's ghost ferret Rhuen

I was lucky enough to find Spectra Vondergeist and Target.  She was the only one and they didn’t have her the following week.  She is great, again, the details get me: her ball and chain earrings and shoes, her transparent hands and partially transparent legs.  She is lovely and sparkly and I like her so much better in person.  She comes with her ghostly companion Rhuen the ghost ferret. 

I also got the forbidden love in bloom set of Draculaura and Clawd Wolf.  This set is just great, I adore the outfits, Draculaura’s parasol is wonderful.  They are an endearing monster couple.  Stylish and engaging these spooky sweethearts make a striking pair.  I can’t wait to read their diaries. 

Dead Tired ghoulish beauty Frankie Stein

I had the most difficult time choosing my first two Dead Tired dolls.  They are all so very appealing and I do want to get them all eventually.  However, I couldn’t get all of them so I limited myself to two.  I ended up choosing Frankie and Ghoulia, it was a tough decision but I made it.  That is not to say that they won’t have company in the not too distant future there is Dead Tired Draculaura, Cleo and Lagoona to think about. 

I think I can forgo the new wave of the standard dolls of Frankie, Cleo and Clawdeen.  I do need Abbey Bominable and the second wave of Dawn of the Dance dolls not to mention the classroom and school spirit sets.  *sigh*  Can there be too much of a good thing?  I hope to find out for myself sometime soon.   

Detail of Dead Tired Frankie's adorable slippers


6 Comments leave one →
  1. Fern permalink
    July 29, 2011 12:06 am

    Hee hee, great read! I hope you can fulfill all your Monster High dreams. 😉

  2. July 29, 2011 12:33 am

    You kooky, spooky kid, you.

  3. August 14, 2012 5:34 pm

    hope your….Monster! dreams come true 🙂

Leave a Reply

