Skip to content

They’re Spooky They’re Cute They’re Living Dead Dolls

July 15, 2011

Collecting.  Yes, I know all too well about collecting.  I know some of you are very good friends with that word as well.  I really think collectors are born…I suppose they can be made, but unfortunately I think I was a born collector.  My poison of choice-dolls.  Yes, dolls.  I love dolls, have always loved dolls and me thinks I will always love dolls.  😀

The original Lulu and her Resurrection series counterpart learning to skate.

All my life I have had the collecting tendency.  The objects of my collections have changed and grown over the years.  When I was a kid, and had no money of my own, I collected odd things, things that were free or could wheedle my mom to buy me and by golly I did my best to try and make a respectable collection.  Of course I started where most girls do-stickers!  Oh yes, I loved me some stickers.  I was always on the hunt for stickers at places like Good Grief, Card Cottage-any place that had the “fancy” stickers on the roll with perforations to tear off each sticker.  Each sticker had a price, so this is where you beg mommy to please buy you the pretty stickers.

The Magnificent Tina Black...and friends.

There were definitely some pretty stickers out there…but um…really now, what was the point of collecting stickers again?  You stick them and it’s over.  And we did, we had sticker albums-why, what was the purpose?  To show someone “Here’s that beautiful sticker I got back in 1983…”, really there was no purpose.  After stickers lost their allure and I had to rely on my on resources, which were zero, I collected bags (don’t ask), boxes (again don’t ask) and business cards.  Oh yes nothing is more rewarding than being a kid with a business card collection of your own.  *rolls eyes*

Whoa…sorry, I went off a little setting the stage.  Yes, back to dolls, my favorite all the time any time collectible.  I am mad for Living Dead Dolls.  Yes creepy cuties that come in their own coffin box.  I have always had a penchant for the spooky and cute ever since I was a little girl.  So when I first saw a Living Dead Doll I was instantly smitten.

The lovely Walpurgis that was quite a special lady to finally get.

My sister and I had gone to Milwaukee for a sad occasion, our grandma’s funeral (the sweetest and dearest little lady).  Our father took us to go shopping to get our mind off of things and because he was a shopaholic.  We went to a mall there and there was a Spencer’s-we hadn’t had one near us in years.  So, my sister and I wandered in for a bit of nostalgia and that is when I saw series 1 Sadie.  An adorable doll dressed in black and white in a coffin shaped box-it was love at first sight and I had to have her.

I waited upon my return home to look them up online.  I searched for the others in the series but couldn’t find any available anywhere.  I didn’t have a home computer at the time and hadn’t even ventured to ebay so my search for the rest of series 1 abruptly ended.  Then when series two was coming out I acted quickly and got Schooltime Sadie, Lizzie Borden and Kitty.  Years later I got Deadbra Ann and just this year finished the series with Lou Sapphire.  I bought one here and there sporadically, missing some series completely-but usually checking just in time to get a real great one like Maggot and Jubilee.  Then getting into them again for entire series.

An Easter basket I made for an anniversary contest

My love really went into overdrive this year with the 13th anniversary of these dolls.  I entered an anniversary contest for poetry and was lucky enough to win.  This is when I became fully obsessed, and I already had over 60 LDDs before I won.  Now I started going back through the archives looking through past series for ones I wanted or overlooked.  Boy, did I find them-and how.  Thanks to other Living Dead Doll enthusiasts I was able to get a lot of dolls I had missed without paying scalper prices.  I also found a supportive, fun and enjoyable community of Living Dead Doll collectors, and have managed to meet some truly wonderful people and friends I may not have met otherwise.  I am currently waiting for my Celebrating Sadie doll and my Resurrection V set.  I just have to find room for them…I have many already waiting in my room to be set free from their coffins.  Okay that sounds slightly disturbing but they are only dolls!  😛  Happy collecting!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 12:24 am

    I wanted to look like Lilly Munster when I grew up. Sigh. Spooky is the hooray!!

    • July 15, 2011 12:48 am

      You and me both! I still want her hair, her dress and her bat necklace!!! I don’t want to be green though! 😛

  2. July 15, 2011 12:26 am

    My girlfriend would love these. She likes stuff may awaken and eat her in the night.

  3. Fern permalink
    July 15, 2011 12:29 am

    Dang, that picture of the Lulus made me remeber how cute they both are….And Walpurgis too….Veronica, if you are reading this – you are so amazing with that camera! 😮 😀

    Another awesome read – it was fun hearing your story of LDD collecting! I hope you get your Sadie soon. 😀 And I really love your Easter basket….so neat! ❤

    • July 15, 2011 12:50 am

      Yes, Veronica is great with a camera and with her imagination! Your Tina and Orchid prints are in your package as promised. 😉

      Thank you so much, I am very glad you enjoyed it. You will certainly hear about it when Sadie finally arrives. She will probably get a blog post too. It was fun getting the basket together. 😀

    • July 15, 2011 1:20 am

      Thank you but I have really amazing models!

Leave a Reply

