Skip to content

Thurber the Magical Bunny Part II

July 7, 2011

***I left off in a previous post that it was time for me to leave work and get the rabbit in my car***

I had obviously noticed that the hutch was dirty when we took it downstairs, so I got garbage bags to line my back seat.  I got my Toyota Tercel and drove it to the alley of the hotel.  I don’t know if you are familiar with the Tercel but it is a teeny car…the hutch wasn’t teeny.  So there we were trying to maneuver the hutch into the back seat with an excitable bunny jumping around.  The poor rabbit hopped around and stopped periodically to stare at us, which was kind of unnerving.

Before too long a crowd gathered to see these two women try and get that hutch into the back seat.  Needless to say the gathering gawkers did not make the task at hand any smoother.  After several minutes of trial and error, we wedged the hutch into my back seat.  The crowd dispersed without even having the graciousness to at least give us a round of applause.  I said goodbye and was off on my over 30 mile ride home from Miami Beach to the South Miami area.

A picture of the angelic Thurber bunny snuggling in my sister's lap

On the way there Mr. Bunny, as I temporarily named him for the ride home, was jumping back and forth and staring at me when he got the chance.  I told him he would be fine and that we were on our way to his new home, and we would clean he and his hutch up and he would be safe.  I turned around and talked to him at every red light to give him reassurance…he just stared and me.  I was beginning to get nervous about taking on the care of this critter that we really didn’t know much about.

Then I arrived home to our townhouse apartment near Dadeland mall (the apartments were torn down a few years ago and luxury apartments were built).  My sister came out to greet me and the bunny.  Then she and I wondered how we were going to get the hutch out of the car.  We just stared for a moment and got on either side of the car and began trying to extract the large hutch, with rabbit inside.  Our neighbor, Judy, came out-she was the sweetest lady-to ask if we needed help.  We all finally managed to get bunny and hutch outside of the car.

An artsy by accident picture of the Bunny Prince

I gathered up all the garbage bags I had put down for protection-and boy howdy did I need them.  My sister and I carried the hutch inside.  Now we had a hutch we really needed to clean, and a rabbit we really needed to tend to.  My mother later remarked that he was a punk bunny because his mats made his hair look spiked.  So my sister and I looked at the bunny and looked at each other.  There was one more thing, and it was a bit of a problem…my sister and I were both afraid of the rabbit.

***There will be more posts about this rabbit that changed our lives and brought so much joy***

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 12:36 am

    Rabbits are frightening! Well he was at first but once you understand the magic of the language and their behavior-best animasl EVER! Don’t tell the kitties.

  2. July 7, 2011 12:38 am

    Yes, we were terrified! Little did we know back then there was nothing to fear and lots to love…I won’t tell the kitties-well maybe I WILL tell Calliope. 😛

  3. Moo permalink
    July 7, 2011 1:51 am

    It’s amazing how frightened we were of him. We were slow learners but he was very patient in showing us what a marvelous gift he truly was.

  4. Fern permalink
    July 7, 2011 3:03 am

    Boy I bet that was quite a sight – both getting the hutch in and getting it out! Bunnies are pretty intimidating at first, that’s for sure. 😀 Thurber is really adorable – I love the picture of him all curled up in your sisters lap. I can’t wait to read more! 😀

    • July 7, 2011 10:32 am

      It was, getting the hutch in car seemed to take forever, and with people gathering it just made us more nervous. Then I had to drive it all the way home with a nervous bunny. Then we had to go through it all over again once I got home. It was quite an adventure…but worth it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

