Skip to content

The Bead Challenge

July 7, 2011

Recently I was running low on beads…REALLY low, so I had to fish through the remnants of various beads I had and others that I didn’t know what to do with.  I was feeling the challenge.  I had vintage wood beads, and others that came in a pack with other beads I had wanted.  

I had old wooden rosary beads, from part of a rosary broken long ago.  My sister had disassembled the rosary and had given me the loose beads.  They had been hanging around one of my storage boxes for months, I just couldn’t think of the right thing to do with them.  I also had some assorted wooden beads and horn beads from different bead packs…and suddenly everything came together.

This orange jade, wood bead and stone pendant necklace will be coming to SenoritaWhiskers soon!

I was able to make three completely different and distinct necklaces from beads I had been ignoring for some time.  It felt really good because I pushed myself and because I was happy with the results.  All these bits and pieces came together in lovely and unexpected ways.

I mixed rosary beads with orange jade and a beautiful stone flower I had with marvelous veining.  I had made other pieces with other stone flower beads, each is unique, this one had more variations and orange than the others so it looks wonderful with the wooden and jade beads.  The flower makes the perfect pendant for this eclectic strand.

This lovely horn and garnet necklace wil be coming soon to my Etsy store!

I had some vintage garnet beads that have been waiting for quite a while for me to do something else with them.  I had already used some in different pieces.  I had wanted to use them again, but had not yet found an opportunity.  I had some stray horn beads, a heart and some carved leaves…I just couldn’t think of anything to do with them.  Then I had an idea mixing these beads with the garnets…and it worked in a really lovely way.  One of those moments where everything falls into place beautifully, that resulted in a really gorgeous necklace.

Exotic wood bead necklace coming soon to SenoritaWhiskers on Etsy.

I reached to work with what I had and was able to make a success out of it.  It felt good to push myself and to have to work harder to create something special-sometimes we need to challenge ourselves in order to grow. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 10:41 pm

    They are even prettier in person! Adversity is a great creative source sometimes.

  2. Fern permalink
    July 8, 2011 12:19 am

    You did an lovely job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

