Skip to content

Thurber the Magical Rabbit Part 1

July 2, 2011

Have you ever had the feeling that you had the word “SUCKER” tattooed on your forehead when no one was looking?  I frequently feel this way but my tattoo must read “Sucker for Animals”.  Yes, I have always been an easy mark.  Luckily my mom and sister have kind and soft hearts too, in fact I think even softer, where furry critters are concerned.  We have pretty much always had cats on hand, so that is what we were used to.  Several years ago I worked in the accounting department of a hotel, and there were a couple of other animal lovers in the office as well.

One day one of my co-workers, Donna,  was talking to an old friend and after she hung up with him she asked us if anyone knew someone who wanted a rabbit.  Apparently her friend had had two bunnies, Snickers and Oreo, and Oreo died.  They wanted to find a home for Snickers or they were just going to let him go.  I told Donna that they couldn’t let the bunny go, it would be dead in no time because it wasn’t used to being in the wild, this is not a place for wild rabbits and there are so many predators it wouldn’t have much of a chance.  Okay his chances were basically zero.

Thurber atop his hutch-how handsome is that?

I started thinking and thinking about this rabbit and really started to worry about him.  I asked Donna to tell her friend to hang on and give me a chance to think of another solution.  I called my mom and asked her if she was willing to help rescue a rabbit in dire need of a home.  Of course, we knew nothing about caring for rabbits, but I just couldn’t bear to think of that poor bunny being sent to his likely demise so thoughtlessly.  After talking to my mother and explaining what the bunny’s owners were planning to do with him she reluctantly agreed.  I happily told my co-worker we would give the rabbit a home.

Thurber all cleaned up and loved-what is not to love? Nothing!

Next came a slight bit of panic at not having the faintest idea of how to take care of a rabbit and really wanting to make good and give him a proper home.  We were getting the cage (that’s what they called it, so I thought it was a…cage) with the rabbit, so we figured cage, pellets-no big deal.  We were wrong but we would find that out later and set things right.

Now we just had to coordinate the bunny drop-off.  You would pretty much think no big deal-guess again.  My co-worker told me her friend would bring the rabbit to the hotel to make it easy for me and because I was doing him a favor.  I asked the food and beverage director, who was my former boss, if I could keep the bunny downstairs in the receiving area (where all the food and supplies for the hotel are delivered) until I went home because I knew I couldn’t have him upstairs in accounting.  He said no problem.

Then Donna’s friend brought the rabbit.  He wasn’t in a cage he was in a rabbit hutch!  A big dirty rabbit hutch, with a scraggily bunny with matted hair.  We took him downstairs, and I asked them to give him some vegetables if they could and I would get him when I left.  I spent the rest of the day getting phone calls from my old boss and the guys in receiving thanking me for the bunny and that he was delicious.  What comedians!  Finally quitting time came at 3:30pm (I started at 7am and had a half hour lunch) and my co-worker said she would help me get the rabbit hutch into the car.

*** I will be continuing Thurber tales in future posts from time to time.  A mystical Bunny Prince such as Thurber was takes more than one blog post to do him justice. ***

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Fern permalink
    July 2, 2011 12:29 am

    Lol, you really must have one of those tatoos…. 😛 Thurber is a beauty. Poor bunny – it is a good thing you stepped in. It sounds like he was needing some much better care than he was being given – all dirty and matted like that! Can’t wait to read the rest of his story!

    • July 2, 2011 1:06 am

      He was in need of TLC, and his lapinfille-my sister the ultimate Bunny Girl! I am so glad you are enjoying reading about this most special bunny. He was truly amazing. xxx

  2. July 2, 2011 1:00 am

    I miss him so much I could cry 😦

  3. Jacqui permalink
    July 2, 2011 1:15 am

    I can’t wait to hear (or is that hare) the rest of this story! I’ve got a soft spot too. I let my bangs grow out recently since I swear I had that same tattoo on my forehead and I wanted the ability to check easily!!!!

Leave a Reply

