Skip to content

My Foe Calliope

June 29, 2011

Well, we have another remarkable cat…but I am not her favorite person, not even close.  Calliope’s favorite human is my sister-paws down!  When I try to pick her up or pet her, she stretches out her front legs and keeps me at legs’ length turns up her head and stares straight at the ceiling as if to say in a disgusted voice, “She’s touching me!  She’s touching me!”  No, she doesn’t like me.

The last time Calliope let me hold her without a fight.

However, this same little cat that loathes me loves to run into my room uninvited.  If she just went in and simply curled up on the bed, I wouldn’t have a problem.  She does not do anything as mundane as that…no…not Calliope.  Nope she proceeds to hide wherever she can and to bounce off the walls by running crazily to and fro around the room until she finds her next area to hide in.  This is why I keep my bathroom door closed so she doesn’t go leaping over the shower doors (she has done that before).

When she is out and about and she sees me going towards my room, she follows me and tries to act “natural” like she was just hanging around and has no plans whatsoever to run into my room.  She really must have absolutely no regard for my judgment if she thinks I would believe any of that for a moment.  I try and chase her away and to get in my room as quick as can be but sometimes…I am just not fast enough.

Believe it or not the little "She-Creature" that loathes me is my Senorita Whiskers girl

What you may well ask could be the harm of letting a rather smallish thin cat in my room for 10 minutes or so?  Plenty!  She is a furry tornado.  She can decimate your room in a few minutes flat.  Which is what she did this past weekend when I left her in my room for about 10 minutes, she was hiding and I couldn’t get to her.

I returned to my room…she had knocked down clothes, knocked boxes off my bed.  I found her in my closet happily annihilating a bag of those inflated packing pillows for shipping.  She destroyed the entire bag full with her teeth and claws.  Was it cute?  Yes.  Did she look funny?  Yes.  Was I happy?  No, but I calmly picked her up and plopped her outside my door.

How can anything so naughty be so pretty?

I have my own nickname for her “She-Creature” because well…as far as I am concerned she deserves it.  “Cat” just doesn’t cover what Calliope is to me, my furry four-legged nemesis.  She is always plotting; you have no idea what but it’s something bad, of course!  Even though she doesn’t like me, I love her; but even loving her I want her to stay out of my room.  Toot doesn’t like it either!  :p

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Fern permalink
    June 29, 2011 11:44 pm

    LOL!! She’s certainly a beautiful thing, isn’t she? And boy does she love to torment you! Shreded a whole bagful of shipping pillows…..Bad kitty….. She’s quite cunning. And makes no question out of her feelings for you! What a personality – that one! Hmmmm, I think I might just have to do some blog posts featuring some of my kitties! (They won’t be anywhere as entertaining as yours <3) Are you going to do any more? 😀

    • June 29, 2011 11:47 pm

      She is gorgeous! And yes, she makes no mistake about letting me know I am NOT her favorite. 😛 I think I will do more, since they seem to entertain! I also have lots of kitties from the past I can write about. I have LOTS of material! 🙂 I look forward to reading posts about your furry cuties too!

  2. June 29, 2011 11:45 pm

    She never saw her real mother cat and was so itty. She is the smartest cat and dear, dear, dear-so how can you write that? I know she’s naughty but she loves us all. . in her way.

    • June 29, 2011 11:48 pm

      I wish that no one should be loved in the way she loves me! 😛

      • June 30, 2011 12:18 am

        She’s been going through a lot lately but she will be a sweetie once more. To me.

  3. Moo permalink
    June 30, 2011 1:45 am

    I love her dearly although I doubt the feeling is mutual. I look at those eyes and I know she is plotting. There is a possibility that one day she will take over the house and we will have to move out.

    • June 30, 2011 10:08 am

      The She Creature got in my room this morning…I hope Veronica can get her out! Curses!!!!!

Leave a Reply

