Skip to content

My Pal Toot

June 28, 2011

I am an animal lover…I love animals.  I am more of a cat person, but I love dogs too.  I also love bunnies, birds, squirrels, and mice, rats-just animals.  I think I have established I like animals.  I know all you animal lovers out there understand that there is a special bond between pets and the people the own.  Yes, they own us much more than we own them.

Poor little kitten after we found her, she had already been cleaned up

 

Also sometimes there are animals that are special and that have a special love and affinity for you.  I have been blessed to have several such pets over the years.  Right now the furry sweetie that is most attached to me is Toot.  Toot and I have a special bond.

Toot came to us almost two years ago.  She was tiny; her eyes had just opened and ears still partly closed.  I was leaving for work, it was before the sun was up and it was raining and it was cold.  My sister had just found a kitten under her car the day before.  The mailman had knocked on our door and told my sister that there was a crying kitten under her car.  He had an umbrella, grabbed my sister’s arm and led her to the source of the  crying.

My sister found a gray striped, soaking wet and freezing kitten.  She took it in, dried her off and tried to warm her up.  She worried and fretted about the little one worried that she might not make it because she had felt like ice.  She had told me the crying sounded like a baby bird.

So, when I was walking to my car that cold, wet morning, I heard crying that sounded like a baby bird.  I went back into the house to tell my sister, “ I hear a sound like a bird chirping!”  She came outside and got on the ground, and pulled out the sorry sight that was to be named Toot.

Toot was wet, dirty, cold and burned.  We figured the mother cat must have tried to put her in the engine area of a car to keep her dry while the engine was still hot.  She was pretty much pink because most of her fur had been singed off, her tail completely stripped of fur.  She was such a heartbreaking sight.  So tiny and tattered, and this was the said sight that I had to leave behind as I went to work.

My sister had her hands full feeding both the abandoned kittens…she bottle-fed them their formula every three hours for weeks.  She used to tell me that Toot was impossible to feed because she would get so excited she would start clawing at the bottle.  I found that out first hand-my poor sister and what she went through.

Both Toot and her sister Munki, pulled through thanks to my sister’s TLC.  Both girls are beautiful, if a little kooky, kitties.  However Toot is particularly attached to me most likely because she likes a good belly rub…my family accuses me of having “belly rubbing ways”.  😛

Toot grown up and still a little scruffy

 

Toot is allowed to sleep with me each night, because really she is a good little cat.  She isn’t destructive, and I have never caught her doing anything she ought not to in my room.  She curls up next to me and I rub her belly until either she or I fall asleep.  She is always sure to let me know when she wants to leave too.  I am so glad we found her.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 11:59 pm

    Toot is the cutest!

  2. Fern permalink
    June 29, 2011 12:04 am

    Aw, cute little kitty! Poor little thing, all burned like that. Its a great thing that the Ebert sisters found them, rescued them and gave them much love and a good life. Raising orphaned kitties is quite a job, and I am so glad they both pulled through. 🙂 I guess your mailman knows the place to go to if there is a kitten who needs rescuing! 😀

    • June 29, 2011 12:20 am

      Really! That mailman was a cat lover, and I guess he knew my sister was too. It always makes me laugh to remember her telling me how he literally grabbed her by the arm and led her to her own car. My sister is the best animal nurse EVER! She is stupendous! 😀

  3. June 29, 2011 4:42 am

    She is cute, and your right, my cats sleep with me to. and I could give you a list of things my cats do, that people would not believe, but i take pictures and videos to prove it. I f I had a million dollars , the three things I would do is take in all the animals, children and the environment and I would protect them, I am a big animal, child, and nature lover.

Leave a Reply

