Skip to content

My Favorite Recycling Achievement

June 24, 2011

I don’t know if you are like me.  Sometimes you might only have one earring, but you hold onto it because you think someday you might find the other one.  *sigh*  I usually end up throwing one away and then a short while later find its match.  Now I try and think of what I can use the odd thing for and recycle it into something new.  I used earrings just as an example; because I don’t wear earrings, though somehow I do end up with them anyway.  😛 

Here is my crowning achievement in the world of recycling: Pumpkin Girl!

Well, I tend to hang on to broken items as well.  I really believe, or at least try to make myself believe that one day I will be able to fix it, find the missing piece under something and make it all better again.  That rarely, if ever happens.

I had this figurine of a girl with her doll, my sister had given it to me and I loved it.  The girl’s head broke off and I glued it back on, it fell off again, back on it went.  Around the third time her head came off, another piece had broken off and her head just wouldn’t go back on.  I thought to myself that well, I would eventually have time to remove the glue build up, make a piece out of clay to replace the missing piece and put her back together again.

That broken figurine stayed with me, just as it was for several years.  The detached head and body even moved with me from one house to another.  I happened upon the same figurine one day on sale and bought it because I had finally given up the idea that I would ever get around to repairing the old one.

A while later I was going through things under my bed-I swear things end up there and you just don’t know how they managed-when I came upon the bag with the head and body in it.  I thought to myself finally I can throw this away, I have another one and I don’t need to store this “junk” any more.  I threw the head away, and was just about to throw away the rest when an idea came to me.  It was an inspiration.  I thought about a cute pumpkin flower pick I had gotten and had sitting in a vase with some silk flowers.

I had a plan, but wasn’t sure it would work.  I had the headless body of the figurine in my hand and hurried to the bathroom area I had the vase in.  I picked up the resin pumpkin on a metal wire.  I bent the wire to make it shorter and then slipped it into the hole where the head broke off on the figure.  It fit, it fit so well and so securely I didn’t need glue or anything else to adhere it, as a matter of fact, I couldn’t even get it out.

That is how my pumpkin girl figurine came to be.  I love it and I really am glad I thought of it.  To this day it is the best recycling I have ever done.  I have continued making old things new and re-imagined, and it usually works out pretty well.  I really love it when things take on a new life and are saved from the trash heap…I like to think the things like it too.  😀

Pumpkin Girl says "Thank you for reading", and so do I.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 1:00 am

    Pumpkin girl will rule the world!

  2. Fern permalink
    June 24, 2011 2:16 am

    I LOVED reading this! You did an amazing save with the figurine – it looks like it was meant to go together with the pumpkin!! 😀 I tend to be the throw everything away person, crossed with the hang onto everything you feel attached to. In this way I stay fairly streamlined, but one can still find stray packaging (for example) stuffed in a drawer, as it had sentimental value. 😛 Hee hee, I hope to see even more blog entries – fun, fun stuff!

    • June 24, 2011 6:50 am

      Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it. I thought Pumpkin Girl would be right up your alley. I hope to be better about blogging, and try to do at least two entries a week. 🙂 I will do my best. I keep strange things for sentimental value too-have to get better about that. I trying to get rid of things little by little. But in the case of this figurine I am glad I decided to hold on to the broken pieces so that Pumpkin Girl could be born! 😛

  3. June 24, 2011 6:52 am

    Lapinfille-argh!!! Ouch! 😛

Leave a Reply

