Skip to content

Valley of the Spooky Ragdolls and More

June 23, 2011

I thought I would take a little break from writing about jewelry for a spell and write about other things I enjoy.  I collect dolls.  I love them and always have.  I remember my mother telling me about how before I was even one, I would call her attention to the commercials for Blythe when they came on TV.  I wanted Blythe, and even before I was a year old I found a way to communicate my doll need to my mother.  (I should add that not much has changed :P)  I was a lucky little girl because 20 days after my first birthday, I got the redhead Blythe for Christmas.  We have pictures of me in my footed pajamas with my grandma and my Blythe.  Sadly this doll was one of the treasures left behind when my family moved from Milwaukee to Miami when I was 7.

Here I am a baby SenoritaWhiskers with my Blythe doll and my wonderful Grandma Ebert

The magic of that doll has never left me.  I was lucky enough over 10 Christmases back that my mother was able to get me an original brunette Blythe, this was before the prices for the original big headed eye changing cutie started going through the roof.  I love her and she is in a cabinet safe and pretty.  I have also been lucky enough to get another original and a few reproductions.

One of my Blythe dolls with a spookalicious cuddle creeper Zombie by Pepperoni Pizza


It is my love of another kind of doll Living Dead Dolls that brought me into contact with a wonderful person, Fern, known on the LDD message board and on Etsy as Pepperoni Pizza.  She and I have become fast friends via email and common interests and similar situations.  Also, she has a love for her LDDs and for her Pipos bjd dolls.  Miss Pizza also makes fabulous clothes for these dolls…and something close to my heart-creepy cuddly cuties for dolls to snuggle.

Here is my Living Dead Doll Purdy with an adorable ghost by Pepperoni Pizza

Visit Pepperoni\’s Etsy Store Here

I am lucky enough to possess three such beautiful critters handmade by the wonderful Fern aka PepperoniPizza.  I have a zombie, a ghost and a kitten.  I personally think that no doll collection should be without at least one of these little hand-crafted darlings for a doll to hold and cherish.  Of course, I know dolls are inanimate objects-but they look awfully cute with little dolls of their own.  Look at the pictures for yourself and tell me you don’t agree!

LDD Sybil snuggling with a lovely rag kitty

 Fern also takes commission work to make clothes for your bjds and LDDs to your specifications, you can work with her and she will create something wonderful just for you.  I am hoping to add a Pipos bjd to my collection someday and have PepperoniPizza whip up some amazing togs for it to wear.  Right now I am very happy with the adorable little companions she has made for my dolls-and an extra, ultra spiffy Santa hat made for my Blythe dolls.  Please feel free to check out her Etsy store and her sewing blog to see a sampling of her work.

Ho! Ho! Ho! Visit Pepperoni’s sewing blog to view more of her magical creations

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Fern permalink
    June 23, 2011 4:10 pm

    Oh wow, Elvie, thank you so much for the presentation on me and my work!! 😀 I love that you posted a pic from your first Christmas – a young MissWhiskers all set and ready to launch into her life as a crazy doll fiend!! 😛 Love it. ❤

    • June 23, 2011 4:25 pm

      So glad you liked it!!! I will do another one when the bunny gets here. I want you to get your mom that Blythe so you can have a model for Blythe clothes. 😉 I wanted you to know one of my friends read the blog via Facebook and is now in love with Pipos bjds! 😛

  2. June 23, 2011 9:19 pm

    Every dollie needs a spooky friend. Well everybody needs a spooky friend. Every dollie needs Senorita Whiskers.

  3. August 20, 2011 7:00 pm

    Thanks to Elvie I am now a pipos fan. Never heard of them until I was blessed to read your post…..I have been on a mission ever since!

    • August 20, 2011 7:06 pm

      So glad that you are a fan! I got one-she is adorable. I will be doing a blog post on her in the future! The Denver Doll Emporium has them, and has payment plans available, ebay is a good place to look and The Toy Shoppe. I hope you find your first soon! 😀

Leave a Reply

