Skip to content

Huzzah for Hematite!

June 10, 2011
Pretty Little Hematite Heart Bracelet from SenoritaWhiskers.  Available Here!

I think anyone that visits my shop and looks at the jewelry I make can tell that I often like to throw in hematite beads too.  I love hematite and I have since high school.  My sister bought me a little hematite stone, and I kept in my wallet for luck.  I lost my wallet.  I didn’t even realize it until my cousin called me that night.  She told me that one of her friends had found my wallet and asked her if she knew whom it belonged to because there was a picture of my cousin in the wallet.  That was a huge stroke of luck because not only had I not realized I had lost it until hours later I had forgotten completely that I had one of my grandmother’s credit cards in my wallet.

Lovely Hematite Loop Earrings

Get them here!

 

The stone eventually moved on to a pencil case I had that I loved and had packed with cool pens and goodies.  It fell out of my book bag and was missing for days; I had given up on ever finding it.  Then, one day as I was leaving one of my classes my pencil case was on the chalk ledge of the blackboard, someone had found it and left it there.  I was amazed and happy.  It was one of those moments that the impossible seemed to become possible, and I still carry that memory of that little jolt of happiness with me all those years later. 

 

Eventually I my hematite stone and I parted.  Somewhere along the way in all the moves from here to there we lost track of each other.  Though, it is possible that it is still somewhere nearby.  I never count that particular possibility out.  It is funny how such a tiny little stone meant so much to me.

Lovely Amethyst and Hematite Bracelet on my Etsy shop!

Get this lovely here!

 

So all my hematite love has had me searching for its properties as a stone.  Apparently it is supposed to be good for improving relationships.  Obviously I need to start carrying some hematite with me for my own good and not just for making jewelry.  Hematite comes from the Greek for “blood” as it was used as a charm against bleeding.  Native American tradition states that war paint made with hematite would make them unconquerable in battle.  So this seems like a pretty nifty and mighty little stone, well I certainly like it.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 1:25 am

    So pretty and I hope you find your little stone again. You are pimping my bracelets!!!

  2. June 10, 2011 1:28 am

    That stone could still be around somewhere-wouldn’t it be super neat if I found it?

  3. Fern permalink
    June 10, 2011 4:33 am

    Anther neat blog entry – you know if it comes to it I will somehow MAKE you blog more! What a neat story and I hope, very much hope, you and your little piece of hematite are re-united. I used to have some, and it very good for grounding oneself, as well as other things. Stones are so much fun, I know I love my little collection I have. I’m hoping you know all about Fluorite? One of my favorites!!! 😀

  4. June 10, 2011 10:25 am

    Thank you! I did not know about fluorite, that is I have seen it but had no idea what it was called. I looked it up and found it comes in a variety of colors, was used to carve statues and scarabs and “encourage truth, understanding and wisdom”. Sounds like a great stone to me, I need to see if I can get some Fluorite for jewelry making. 😀 Thank you for the information.

Leave a Reply

